Home

Previous Image
Next Image

MADELEINE OWEN

Artistic Director

The cicada develops slowly, secretly, over a period of years before presenting itself in style with a song which everyone can hear and appreciate. In the well-known fable, the ants belittled the cicada for doing nothing but share its music. Perhaps they forgot how the cicada’s song lightened their labour and allowed them to dream, to rejoice, to love and also to weep…

Formed in 2006 in Montréal, the early music ensemble La Cigale takes its name from this most musical insect and hopes in turn to share its music with anyone who would like to listen.

La Cigale specializes in music of the Renaissance and Baroque eras on period instruments. The group creates programmes that juxtapose formal and traditional styles, explore the links between literature and music, and bring to light little known masterpieces. The musicians of La Cigale have been praised for the warmth of their performances and for the complicity they share with each other and their audiences.

In 2013, the ensemble released a first CD, Tiorba Obbligata, with an unusual programme of early Italian works featuring the theorbo as an obbligato instrument. Several pieces on the CD were world premiere recordings and La Cigale is one of the rare groups to make this repertoire their own. Tiorba Obbligata was nominated in Québec for a “Prix Opus” in the category of Disc of the Year—medieval, Renaissance, Baroque and Classical music.

The ensemble is often featured in concert series and festivals and pursues a wide variety of musical activities. Ensemble La Cigale has been featured at the Montreal Baroque Festival, at an exhibition opening at the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, and for festivities at the Montreal Botanical Gardens. In their quest to share their musical passion, the group has performed outdoors on Rigaud Mountain (International Walking Day), in a gallery of modern art and in a Montréal beauty salon. Musicians from the group have also had the pleasure of introducing music lovers to Baroque music (La Grande Bibliothèque du Québec, in a concert-conference) and have performed for conferences of the Cercle interuniversitaire d’étude sur la République des Lettres (CIERL, Université Laval) devoted to interdisciplinary research bringing together literature, iconography and music. As well, La Cigale has collaborated for several seasons with the Projet Choral choir. For the 2014 season, the ensemble is producing a series of three programmes of music traversing the ages from Spanish Baroque chaconnes to songs by the Rolling Stones.

EN ESPAÑOL


EndoParagon Inc.
Ensemble La Cigale gratefully acknowledges the generous support of EndoParagon Inc.

Accueil

Previous Image
Next Image

MADELEINE OWEN

Directrice artistique

La cigale croît doucement, lentement, en secret, avant de révéler dans sa pleine beauté un chant que tous peuvent entendre et goûter. Dans la fable bien connue, la fourmi l’a tournée en dérision, elle qui n’offrait rien d’autre que le partage de sa musique ; mais elle a peut-être oublié comme ce chant allégeait les travaux, permettait de rêver, de se réjouir, d’aimer et aussi de pleurer….

Formé en 2006 à Montréal, l’ensemble de musique ancienne La Cigale tire son nom de ce merveilleux chanteur et offre à son tour un échange musical à tous ceux qui aimeraient l’entendre.

La Cigale est un ensemble à géométrie variable qui se consacre à la redécouverte des répertoires musicaux Renaissance et baroque sur instruments d’époque. Le groupe se donne pour mission d’associer des œuvres de style savant et traditionnel, d’explorer les liens entre la littérature et la musique, et de rendre accessible au public des chefs-d’œuvre méconnus. Les musiciens de La Cigale sont loués pour leurs prestations chaleureuses et pour la complicité qu’ils entretiennent avec leur public.

En 2013, l’Ensemble a produit un premier CD, Tiorba Obbligata, comportant un programme inusité d’œuvres italiennes centrées autour du théorbe en tant qu’instrument obligé. Le CD comprend plusieurs œuvres jamais enregistrées auparavant, et La Cigale est un des rares ensembles à se spécialiser dans ce repértoire. Tiorba Obbligata a été nominé pour un Prix Opus dans la catégorie « Disque de l’année—musiques médiévale, de la Renaissance, baroque, classique. »

L’ensemble se produit fréquemment dans des séries de concerts et des festivals et poursuit des activités aussi variées qu’originales. On a pu l’entendre dans le cadre d’un large éventail d’événements comme le festival Montréal baroque, une ouverture d’exposition au Musée Canadien des Civilisations et des festivités du Jardin Botanique de Montréal. Dans leur passion de partager leur musique, l’ensemble s’est produit en plein air sur la montagne de Rigaud (Journée internationale de la marche), dans une galerie d’art contemporain et dans un salon de beauté montréalais. Les musiciens de la formation ont également eu le plaisir d’initier des mélomanes à la musique baroque (Grande Bibliothèque du Québec, en concert-conférence) ou de se produire pour des colloques du Cercle interuniversitaire d’étude sur la République des Lettres (CIERL, Université Laval) consacrés aux recherches interdisciplinaires qui font se rencontrer littérature, iconographie et musicologie. En outre, La Cigale poursuit une collaboration de plusieurs saisons avec le chœur Projet Choral. Pour leur série de concerts du printemps 2014, l’ensemble a crée des programmes de musique allant des chaconnes espagnoles de l’époque baroque jusqu’à des arrangements de chansons des Rolling Stones.

EN ESPAÑOL


EndoParagon Inc.
Ensemble La Cigale reconnaît avec gratitude le soutien généreux de EndoParagon Inc.